Cricketindia, you got it!

Harbhajan Singh, Yuvraj Singh to represent India Maharajas in League Legends Cricket


Harbhajan Singh & Yuvraj Singh
Harbhajan Singh & Yuvraj Singh. (Photo Source: Twitter)

A week after the veteran spinner Harbhajan Singh announced his retirement from international cricket, he will now be in action again in the Legends League Cricket. The tournament is all set to be held among three teams comprising of the retired international cricketers and the excitement is already up the ladder among fans to see the legends in action. Oman will host the tournament from January 20 at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium.

Asia Lions and the Rest of the World will be the other two teams in the league. Legendary all-rounder Yuvraj Singh is a part of the Indian Maharajas side that does have star players like Virender Sehwag, Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, and many others.

The Road Safety Series last year witnessed these cricketers playing together with Sachin Tendulkar also being part of the tournament. Ravi Shastri, who is the Commissioner of Legends League Cricket, had recently expressed his excitement in a statement.

It would be the mother of all rivalries, states Ravi Shastri

Shastri opened up on the rivalry between these players in the past and explained that the battle is going to bring joy to a lot of fans. Shastri, who recently had been relieved of duties as the Indian head coach, is likely to be approached by the IPL franchises now for the same role. The 16-members squad will have to undergo isolation as Covid-19 has started to take its toll on the players.

“Like true Kings, they will come, they would see and they would conquer. The Cricket Maharajas from India are coming together to take on the battle against the other two top teams from Asia and the rest of the World. It would be the mother of all rivalries when Sehwag, Yuvraj, Bhajji play against Afridi, Murali, Chaminda, Shoaib, this will be a blast from the past for the fans.” Shastri said in a statement as quoted by My Khel.

The India Maharajas Squad: Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Badrinath, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Naman Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, Sanjay Bangar, Nayan Mongia and Amit Bhandari.

The Rest of the World squad is yet to be announced, while the Asia Lions squad, boasting of big names like Shoaib Akthar, Shahid Afridi, Muttiah Muralitharan, and Tilakaratne Dilshan, was put forth earlier.

The Asia Lions Squad: Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, Umar Gul, and Asghar Afghan


Source link