Cricketindia, you got it!

Hong Kong players recreate Indian team’s ‘Kala Chashma’ celebration after securing Asia Cup berth


Hong Kong Team Celebration
Hong Kong Team Celebration. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Hong Kong cricket team sealed an Asia Cup 2022 berth after finishing as the table-toppers in the qualification round in Oman on August 24, Wednesday. They look well and truly ready to get their tournament underway, as they danced to the song ‘Kala Chashma’, quite like the Indian team did after winning the ODI series 3-0 in Zimbabwe, to celebrate their Asia Cup qualification.

The Indian team had danced to the popular Bollywood number after their series victory against Zimbabwe earlier in the week. Ishan Kishan and Shikhar Dhawan, among many others, led the troop on the dance floor with their unique moves. And now, the Hong Kong team were also seen copying the steps in a video that has surfaced on social media platforms.

Here’s the video:


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ESPNcricinfo (@espncricinfo)

Hong Kong join India and Pakistan in Asia Cup group

Hong Kong played against Kuwait, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Singapore in the Asia Cup 2022 Qualifier. They won against all three teams and pipped Kuwait for the top spot. They were also part of the last Asia Cup in 2018 and were in the same group as India and Pakistan. Incredibly, they will once again join the same two teams in the coming edition in Group A.

Group B consists of Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The opening match of the tournament will be played between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Saturday, August 27 while much-awaited India versus Pakistan clash kicks off proceedings of Group A on Sunday at the same venue. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super Four stage, and the top two teams from that stage will qualify for the final, which will be played on September 11.

This is the 15th edition of the Asia Cup and India will go into the competition as the defending champions. They have won the title a total of seven times, and Sri Lanka and Pakistan have won it five and two times respectively. This will be only the second time in the competition, after the 2016 edition, the T20 format will be used.


Source link