Cricketindia, you got it!

T20 World Cup 2022: Australia Squad For The Tournament Announced, Mitchell Swepson Dropped


Australian Cricket Team

Australia have named a 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 which is all set to be held in Australia later this year. The Kangaroos will be seen defending their title as they won the last edition of the tournament in 2021 in Dubai, beating New Zealand in the final.

Australia‘s squad this year too, will be led by Aaron Finch. Tim David has earned a maiden call-up for the T20 World Cup in the Australia side. The young flamboyant finisher showed glimpses of destruction in IPL 2022 this year for the Mumbai Indians. Mitchell Swepson, on the other hand, has been dropped from the side.

Team Australia (Image Credit: Twitter)
Team Australia (Image Credit: Twitter)

Australia Squad For T20 World Cup 2022 Announced

“This is a similar squad to that which became the first Australian’s men’s team to win a T20 World Cup, who are now very excited about playing the tournament at home,” chairman of selectors George Bailey said in a statement.

“Mitchell Swepson was unlucky to miss out based on conditions in the UAE at the last World Cup where we planned for tired, spinning wickets compared to what we would expect are good batting conditions along with the larger grounds in Australia.”

Image Source: Twitter

“Tim (David) continues to establish himself with some quality performances in leagues around the world, earning a place in the squad. He is a highly gifted, natural ball striker who will add extra batting depth to the group which has had a lot of success in T20 cricket in recent times. We expect him to play a similar role to that he has been playing in the past few years,” Bailey further added.

Australia squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

The qualifiers will begin on October 16 this year and a total of 8 teams divided into two groups will be competing for the final t20 spots in the league stage. The league stage will commence on October 23 and the final is slated to be played on November 13.

Group A: Namibia, Sri Lanka, UAE, Netherlands 

Group B: Ireland, Scotland, West Indies, Zimbabwe 

Group 1: Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Winner Group A, Runner-Up Group B 

Group 2: India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Runner Up Group A, Winner Group B 

The post T20 World Cup 2022: Australia Squad For The Tournament Announced, Mitchell Swepson Dropped appeared first on CricketAddictor.


Source link